D2438 is pictured on pilot duty 3 shunting a DMU car at Corkerhill Depot, Glasgow on 9th March 1968   Peter Martin

   D2438 at Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath in August 1972. Interestingly, although not officially then withdrawn it was located at the end of a siding with rods removed,   Norman Blackburn
First allocated to Ayr in May 1960. Transferred to Corkerhill in April 1963. Transferred to Thornton in May 1968. Transferred to Dunfermline Townhill in July 1970 from where it was withdrawn in November 1972 probably as a result of the requirement for a locomotive at Burntisland ceasing.

Sightings for D2438

LocoLocationDateSeen by
D2438Ayr Depot08/06/1960RO 1960 page 222
D2438Ayr Depot07/06/1961Roger Smith
D2438Ayr Depot21/04/1962Roy Hennefer
D2438Ayr Depot22/04/1962Dave Hird
D2438Ayr Depot14/04/1963Robin Lush
D2438Ayr Depot16/04/1963Ian Ward
D2438Corkerhill Depot22/07/1963Charles Taylor
D2438Corkerhill Depot29/03/1964Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill Depot05/04/1964Ian Derrick
D2438Corkerhill Depot26/07/1964Ian Lander
D2438Corkerhill Depot31/07/1964Ian Lander
D2438Corkerhill Depot16/08/1964Bob Stone
D2438Corkerhill Depot22/11/1964Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill Depot17/04/1965Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill Depot18/04/1965A Ledwick
D2438Corkerhill Depot01/08/1965Bob Wallen
D2438Corkerhill Depot07/08/1965Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill 08/08/1965Colour-Rail archive
D2438Corkerhill Depot05/02/1966Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill Depot20/02/1966RO April 1966 Page 122
D2438Corkerhill Depot27/08/1966stuart ottaway
D2438Corkerhill Depot27/08/1966Peter Martin
D2438Corkerhill Depot04/09/1966Robert Warburton
D2438Corkerhill Depot27/05/1967Roy Hennefer
D2438Corkerhill Depot09/09/1967Roy Dean
D2438Corkerhill Depot09/03/1968Peter Martin
D2438Thornton Depot04/05/1968Andrew Dodgson
D2438Thornton Depot27/07/1968Peter Martin
D2438Markinch29/08/1968Robert Warburton
D2438Burntisland12/09/1968RO 1968 Page 403
D2438Kirkcaldy19/04/1969Peter Martin
D2438Kirkcaldy31/10/1969p.423 12/69 RO
D2438Markinch27/03/1970Howard Bolton
D2438Markinch28/03/1970Railway Locomotives 1970 Page 43
D2438Ladybank29/03/1970RO 1970 page 209
D2438Burntisland08/09/1970Dennis Graham
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath25/07/1971Robert Warburton
D2438Markinch06/08/1971Keith Hacker
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath06/09/1971Bob Stone
D2438Kirkcaldy31/03/1972Ian Addison
D2438Kirkcaldy24/04/1972John Woolley
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath28/05/1972Stewart Hookins
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath11/07/1972Bob Stone
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath13/07/1972Robert Warburton
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath22/07/1972Keith Gunner
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath03/02/1973Charles Taylor
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath21/04/1973Nigel Sporne
D2438Dunferml;ine Townhill Depot21/04/1973Tom Bartlett
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath11/05/1973Trevor Roots
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath04/08/1973Nigel Sporne
D2438Dunfirmline Townhill Depot, Halbeath06/08/1973Rob Aston
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath11/09/1973Alastair
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath 13/04/1974Nigel Sporne
D2438Dunfermline Townhill Depot, Halbeath26/05/1974Stewart Hookins
D2438Dunfermline Town Hill Depot, Halbeath31/07/1974David Morris

Last updated: 20th January 2019